Carve-out

Outsourcing, a strategic lever

Are you embarking on a carve-out project? The dates have been set and there is only one thing left to do: make sure that everything is ready on the big day! Unusual penalties are at stake. Processes, tools and people must be ready. And what about sourcing?

It is essential for a company to regain its autonomy after a sale or LBO, particularly in terms of its information system, which is often highly pooled within a group.

Carve-out refers to this critical stage of IS separation. The project is both technical (migration of infrastructures, applications, legal (transfer of assets, contracts, licences, etc.) and organisational (processes, team, etc.).

The additional constraints are that the separation dates are fixed and there is only one requirement: that everything is ready on the day! Unusual penalties are at stake.

Thanks to its Carve-Out expertise and experience, JALIX has become a recognised player, especially when, in parallel to the Carve-Out, the ambitious new company has to build its new IS (often almost from scratch) and be agile by opting for Cloud solutions.

What is Carve-out?

A carve-out consists of financially, legally and operationally separating an entity from its parent company, in the context of an asset split. Less studied than its counterpart, mergers and acquisitions, it is a behind-the-scenes process which nevertheless mobilises the management teams of the parent company, the entity being sold, the buyer, bankers, consultants and other technical experts who support them in the same challenge: the sale of the entity being sold under good conditions and at a pre-agreed price.

The issues

Failure to control the IT carve-out can undermine the operational and financial success of the operation, or even call into question the operation as defined in the original agreement. The usual timeframes for stabilising systems must be shortened to keep up with the financial transaction schedule. Prior to the demerger, poor project management generates additional costs and may jeopardise the planned disposal date, undermining investor confidence. After the spin-off, any degradation of IT services has destructive consequences, at a time when the divested company needs to demonstrate its autonomy and prove itself in its market.

An IT project aligned with the four main stages of carve-out


  • The pre-signing phase, during which the seller and buyer will negotiate the terms of the contract,
  • The pre-closing phase following the signing of the contract, during which the project team is put in place and begins to plan the overall project and carry out the activities leading up to closing, including the carve-out,
  • At closing the sold entity is transferred to the buyer and the transition phase begins, during which the teams on both sides will carry out the operational separation,
  • Once the transition is complete, the cut-off phase ends all links between the parent company and the divested entity, which must now be able to operate the final activities independently. The post-cut-off cleanup phase is completed.

Structuring the IT carve-out project


  • Define first the operating principles for the project teams, which will serve as a reference point when the pressure mounts. Give priority to responsiveness, direct exchanges and complete transparency in internal communications and with the three stakeholders. Implement enhanced collaboration through social tools and ensure that trust is maintained.
  • Assess the IT readiness for carve-out at the start. A detailed analysis of the IT environment and the degree of integration is the basis for the separation scenario.
  • Then define the target level of IT autonomy for the entity on the day of the sale. Ideally, the subsidiary should be sold with a completely autonomous IT. But in most cases, it will continue to use IT services provided by its former parent company. These will need to be identified as soon as possible in order to define specific agreements called Transaction Service Agreements (TSAs)

Carve-out

L’infogérance, un levier stratégique

Vous embarquez dans un projet de carve-out ? Les dates sont fixées et il n’y a plus qu’un seul impératif : qu’au jour J, tout soit prêt ! Des pénalités hors normes sont en jeu. Processus, outils et humains doivent être prêts. Et qu’en est-il du sourcing ?

La reprise de son autonomie par une entreprise après une cession ou LBO est essentielle, en particulier au niveau du SI qui est souvent très mutualisé dans un groupe.

Le Carve-out désigne cette étape critique de séparation des SI.  Le projet est à la fois technique (migration des infrastructures, applications, juridique (transfert des assets, contrats, licences …) et organisationnel (processus, équipe…).

Les contraintes supplémentaires sont quel les dates de séparation sont fixées et il n’y a plus qu’un seul impératif : qu’au jour J, tout soit prêt ! Des pénalités hors normes sont en jeu.

Grâce à son expertise et expérience de Carve-Out, JALIX est de devenu un acteur reconnu, notamment lorsqu’en parallèle du Carve-Out la nouvelle entreprise ambitieuse doit construire son nouveau SI (souvent presque à partir de la page blanche) et être agile en optant pour des solutions Cloud.

Carve-out, c'est quoi ?

Le carve-out consiste à séparer financièrement, juridiquement et opérationnellement une entité de sa maison mère, dans le cadre d’une scission d’actifs. Moins étudié que son pendant, les fusions acquisitions, c’est un travail de l’ombre qui va pourtant mobiliser les équipes de management de la maison mère, de l’entité vendue, de l’acheteur, des banquiers, consultants et autres experts techniques qui les accompagnent autour d’un même enjeu : la vente dans de bonnes conditions et à un prix pré-convenu de l’entité cédée.

Les enjeux

La non-maîtrise du carve-out IT peut nuire à la réussite opérationnelle et financière de l’opération, voir remettre en question l’opération telle qu’elle avait été définie dans l’accord initial. Les délais habituels pour stabiliser les systèmes doivent être raccourcis pour suivre le planning de l’opération financière. Avant la scission, une mauvaise gestion du projet génère un surcoût et peut remettre en question la date prévue de cession, en ébranlant la confiance des investisseurs. Après la scission, toute dégradation des services IT entraîne des conséquences destructrices, à un moment où l’entreprise cédée doit démontrer son autonomie et faire de nouvelles preuves sur son marché.

Un projet IT aligné sur les quatre grandes étapes du carve-out


  • La phase de pré-signature, au cours de laquelle le vendeur et l’acheteur vont négocier les conditions du contrat,
  • La phase de pré-closing qui suit la signature du contrat, au cours de laquelle l’équipe projet est mise en place et commence à planifier l’ensemble du projet et à réaliser les activités menant au closing, y compris sur le volet carve-out,
  • Au closing l’entité vendue est transférée à l’acheteur et démarre alors la phase de transition pendant laquelle les équipes des deux côtés vont effectuer la séparation opérationnelle,
  • Une fois la transition terminée c’est le cut-off qui met fin à tout lien entre la maison mère et l’entité cédée qui doit maintenant être capable d’opérer de manière indépendante les activités finales. La phase de cleanup post cut off est réalisée.

La structuration du projet de carve-out IT


  • Définir en premier les principes de fonctionnement pour les équipes projet, et qui serviront de repère lorsque la pression monte. Privilégier la réactivité, les échanges directs et une complète transparence dans les communication internes et avec les trois parties prenantes. Mettre en place une collaboration augmentée grâce à des outils sociaux et veiller à maintenir la confiance.
  • Evaluer au démarrage la “readiness” IT pour le carve-out. Une analyse détaillée de l’environnement IT et du degré d’intégration, sans se voiler la face, est la base du scénario de séparation.
  • Définir ensuite le niveau d’autonomie IT cible pour l’entité le jour de la vente. L’idéal est de céder la filiale avec un IT complètement autonome. Mais dans la majorité des cas, elle va continuer à utiliser des services IT fournis par son ancienne maison mère. Il faudra les identifier au plus tôt pour définir les accords spécifiques appelés « Transaction Service Agreements » (TSA)